Sonntag, 10. November 2019


Three Passes Trek

The three passes trek is the ultimate Everest circuit, it rises from Lukla to Chhukung, crossing the 5535m Kongma La to Lobuche and Everest Base Camp, continuing over the 5420m Cho La to Gokyo, then crossing the 5345m Renjo La to Thame and Namche Bazaar. Only for the truly adventurous.
Plan for about 20 days, the maximum elevation is 5535m, the best season for the trek October–November & March–May. Start/Finish is in Lukla.
Permits: TIMS card, Sagarmatha National Park permit that you get both in Lukla/Monjo.

The table below shows my itinerary. This are trekking times only; stops are not included. I was aiming for a slow acclimatization, side trips for that purpose in Namche, Dingboche and Chhukung before doing the first pass. From day 7 to 14 I was always above 4700m and spent another day in Namche to be at the right time in Lukla for my flight back to Kathmandu.

Day Section Hours height
1 Lukla to Cheplung 1:15 2850m
Cheplung to Phakding 1:45 2640m
Phakding to Benkar 1:30
Benkar to Monjo 1:00
2 Monjo to Namche Bazaar 3:00 3450m
3 Roundtrip Khumjung 3900m
4 Namche Bazaar to Sanasa 1:00
Sanasa to Phunki Thenga 1:30
Phunki Thenga to Tengboche 1:30
Tengboche to Deboche 0:30 4000m
5 Deboche to Orsho 0:45
Orsho to Dingboche 1:00
6 Nangkar Tshang 5083m
7 Dingboche to Chhukung 2:30 4750m
8 Chhukung Ri 5550m
9 Chhukung to Kongma La 3:30 5530m
Kongma La to Lobuche 3:00 4910m
10 Lobuche to Gorak Shep 2:30 5140m
Kala Pattar 3:00 5550m
Gorak Shep to Lobuche 2:30 5140m
11 Lobuche to Dzonglha 3:00 4830m
12 Dzonglha to Cho La 3:00 5420m
Cho La to Dragnag 3:00 4790m
13 Dragnag to Gokyo 2:00 4790m
14 Gokyo Ri 5360m
15 Gokyo to Renjo La 3:00 5417m
Renjo La to Lumde/Marulung 3:00 4210m
16 Lumde/Marulung to Thame 2:30 3820m
Thame to Namche Bazaar 3:00 3450m
17 Namche Bazaar 3450m
18 Namche Bazaar to Monjo 3:00
Monjo to Benkar 1:00
Benkar to Phakding 1:30
19 Phakding to Cheplung 1:15
Cheplung to Lukla 1:15 2850m


Three Passes, three parts of the story...

1. Lukla to Chhukung,
2. Kongma La to Kala Patthar,
3. Cho La to Lukla